The Versatile Blogger Award

Much appreciation to Adam over at Write Thoughts for tagging me with this peculiar award! I don’t consider myself versatile, but I’m honored to be thought of as so! My mother-in-law did call me a “stick in the mud,” after all. And yes, I wear that moniker with pride.

What is the Versatile Blogger Award?

Bloggers nominate other bloggers who they believe deserve recognition for their high quality standard of writing, uniqueness of content, passion and love displayed throughout the site and to top it off, amazing photos!

Rules of the Versatile Blogger Award:

Thank the blogger who nominated you and share their link.

Nominate up to 10 bloggers for the award and provide links to their blogs. Also, inform them about the nomination.

Reveal 7 facts about yourself that your readers may not know.

  1. I have four cats, ranging from 3 years old to 2 months old. And I have no regrets. But I will draw the line at four. I don’t need my  cat population outnumbering the human population in my house. I won’t be that crazy cat lady. But I will dance on that fence for now.
  2. My fondest writing memory is writing vampire stories by candlelight at 2am on a weekend. Sometimes weeknights on a school week, too. Those were my teenage years (which is now over fourteen years ago oh gosh) and what I wish I knew then what I know now. My aspirations back then were split between fine art, graphic design, and writing, (and everything else at 16 years old) and I suppose I wouldn’t have done anything differently. Except appreciate the freedom of youth. I certainly didn’t take advantage of the extent of how easy I’d had it back then.
  3. And then I joined the National Guard. I was in the Air Force for six years in the public affairs department, and in retrospect, I learned that the military world is really not much different than the corporate world. Or perhaps I possess those sentiments because I worked with the bureaucratic departments of the military rather than working in the field. Regardless, I still marvel at my reckless abandon of joining the service. I am grateful for the experience and principles I learned there. And… the Texas sunrise in August is beautiful.
  4. My very first critique utterly devastated me. I was in my early twenties and I was working on a Russian mafiya-type story, and I posted it to AbsoluteWrite forums for a thorough beating critique. And boy did they have no restraints on my first chapter. To put it bluntly, I gave up writing for quite nearly a year before I went back to it. My writing was confusing, the focus was weird, the characters were acting strangely, descriptions were misleading, the whole nine. And yes, in hindsight, I look at the old mss, cringe, and agree with every single comment I received on that WIP. It was scrapped quickly, of course, (the storyline was weak anyway), but at that time, the directness of the critiques was necessary. I’d absorbed (albeit sadly) the red flags of bad writing, and strove to study this art of writing even more so than ever before.
  5. I’ve self-published in the past, but have since retracted my book from the public. Yes, it’s awful. Yes, it’s about my favorite character. But it was crap. I got carried away with the momentary success of finishing and polishing a WIP. Because a WIP is a WIP, not a presentable book. At this point in writing, I write because I love it. Perhaps one day I may pursue traditional publishing, but in the meantime, I choose to write for enjoyment.
  6. When I began to take life seriously, my first aspiration was to become an architect. When I learned that I needed a second degree in engineering (which entailed much math), I got scared and backed away from that idea. I then fell back to my original aspiration of becoming a 3d animator. After realizing that I could never afford Full Sail or Cooper Union, or any art institute whatsoever, I finally settled on becoming a paralegal. I had three more paralegal classes to take before becoming certified, but then my life went into a different direction. Now, I wish I knew back then what I know now: that I should have pursued library science.
  7. I am hopelessly and eternally addicted to the Sims. It began way back when they first came out (1999, can you believe it?!) and while the time I spend playing it has gone to about, oh, 20 hours per year, I will forever continue to fangirl over the newest expansion packs, I now use that time as an excuse to design a character’s house. Or create a writerly sim who can churn out a fantasy novel in the span of 15 human minutes, to which I will feel disgusted at myself because that’s what I should be doing, not some sim.

    Which is why I play the Sims once every few months. Because time passes by too quickly. And time is precious.
    But I will indulge in that “game,” because I understand that sometimes, I need to be a 15 year old again for three hours.

And there you have it! Apologies for the rambling, but I get carried away sometimes. I humbly tag the wonderful folks below, simply for being amazing and so talented!

  • Brandi, whose persistence and creativity I always admire.
  • Alecia, a witted and talented lady I was fortunate to meet in the twitterverse.
  • Lexi Lefevre, another talented creative from the twitterverse.
  • Nicole, lovely and beloved, though I’m sure she’s been tagged already.
  • and Sara, a beautiful and thoughtful friend.

 

 

8 responses to “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. I feel the same about cats, although our three outnumber the humans in the house and we definitely are the crazy cat people. Also, I read that bit about Sims aloud to my partner (mostly for the house designing and writerly sim parts) and they were like, “Me too!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s peculiar how cats have a tendency to overtake one’s home. We take them into our home, but in reality, it’s the other way around..!

      That’s so funny about the Sims! I feel sort of better knowing that I’m not the only who intentionally creates a writer (usually a perfectionist, too) on the Sims. Perhaps it’s a subconscious manifestation of our frustrations? Either way, Sims is more like a vice for me at this point — and probably for your partner, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awwww, thanks for the tag, Jessica! I’ll definitely do this at some point, though it might take a little while. I have a few other tags to catch up on, including this one!

    How is little Ouiji doing, btw? I feel kind of bad in hindsight, having told you that it reminded me of the game Ouija. O_O

    I still find myself playing a round or two (or several) of Bejeweled Blitz now and then. Some days I’m able to fight the urge better than on others. I remember the Sims games, btw. My brother and I didn’t have those games on our home computer when we were kids, but we would play them whenever we visited Learningsmith’s computer lab. *lol*

    Liked by 1 person

    • You don’t *have* to do the tag, but it’s always fun to see when a friend gets tagged! Blogs always have this sort of “need to be serious” feel, and I think tags are a good way to get to know the author. Like a Q&A. There’s absolutely no rush, of course!

      And oh my gosh, don’t feel bad at all! Ouiji is being a little punk, but fortunately, my other cats get along with him pretty well, so I’m happy for that. Ouiji does need to learn some manners, though. Like not to jump on me while I’m eating dinner (and consequently scratching me in the process) and not to bite toes that sit around the dining room table. But he’s a lovey dovey, too. Feels like he’s always been a part of the family! Methinks you need a familiar of some type…

      Bejeweled! So addicting, I understand!! Soda Crush is my secret addiction, and I’ve been able to resist that one for quite some time now. Thank goodness! I feel like such a mindless tool after I binge on games like that! Sims is really great fun though, but such a time suck, too. I swear that building a house and interior decoration is all a part of story research!

      Liked by 1 person

      • “Blogs always have this sort of “need to be serious” feel, and I think tags are a good way to get to know the author.”

        They do, actually. I know mine can be serious sometimes… though I do “let my hair down” now and then, too. When I think of it. 🙂

        But trust me, I don’t feel obligated at all. Except now I’m already racking my brain, trying to think of 7 facts about myself that I haven’t shared yet. XD I’m sure there’s something!

        About Ouiji: AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. What a little troublemaker.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yes! And the discussions on your blog are great; your blog is what a blog should be: informative, thought-provoking, but also fun and down to earth. I think the blogger has a lot to do with that 😉

          And tell me about it — coming up with 7 “facts” about the self is so much harder than it seems. I tried to keep it writing-related, but even then, it’s tough. But sticking to a theme helps! I know you’ve done a book/genre/reading related tags… maybe a theme about your writing process, writing experiences, or other hobbies? Anyways, have fun with it! You’re under no obligation at all! ❤

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award! | Thoughts Stained With Ink·

Comments, questions, disagreements, or just want to say something? Please do!

