July Camp Nano, Week 2

Well, it’s the end of the second full week of July, anyway. 15 days down, 16 more to go!

And would you believe that I only just now completed the novella last night? In case you missed it, I was supposed to be editing this 40k word text dump (40,964 words, to be exact) this month. And technically, I’m about 40k words behind on that.

So today after work, and cooking dinner, and cleaning up, and taking 20 minutes to unwind and meditate, I came up with something of an editing plan. I’m printing the hard copy as I write this!

Here’s what I have on the agenda:

[Draft, Edit Versions]

[v.1.0] hard copy for general read-through, overview edit; minimal line edits

Check:  Logical beginning, middle, end

Correct flow

                      Transitions

                      Scene function

[v.1.1] notes on plot consistency; clarity

[v.1.2] notes on character consistency; clarity

[v.1.3] apply changes

[v.2.0] general overview edit; minimal line edits

[v.2.1] plot and character review

[v.2.2] apply changes

[v.3.0] review

[v.4.0] Hemingway/other text sample?

[v.4.1] line edits x2

Check:  Word choice; punctuation, etc.

                      Change font; review

I’m crossing my fingers that I can get this done in 16ish days… but the more editing “points” I kept thinking of, the less likely it seems that I can get this all done by July 31st. Actually, make that 15 days, since I have a crap ton of errands to get to after work tomorrow.

If you, dear reader, have any suggestions as far as editing when you’re crunched for time, or if you just have any general editing tips from your own experiences, please let me know!

This Camp editing thing is getting me a bit intimidated.

Just a bit.

pointandrun

5 responses to “July Camp Nano, Week 2

  1. Awwwww… I wish I could offer advice on editing under a time-crunch. But I’m not the fastest writer / editor, and NaNo anything scares the $%@& out of me as a result, so… the only thing I can suggest is just to do what you can and try not to stress out about it too much. If it carries over into August, that’s perfectly OK. *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the encouragement! Maybe I can just qualify the first round of edits for nano? 😀 I got 10 pages done last night, so about 50 left to go! After doing April and July camp, I’m starting to feel rather burnt out. As in, I may skip November’s round this year. It’s definitely stressful, and life is stressful enough as it is.

      Liked by 1 person

      • In my book, those edits certainly qualify. 😉

        And yeah, if you feel like NaNo in general is burning you out, take a break from it – the NaNo-ing, that is. Not the writing itself… unless you think you need a break from that as well?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Oh no, definitely no breaks from the writing! It’s that all the stress from this “deadline” pressure since April is starting to wear on me. So taking a breather and going at a less-strenuous pace sounds very appealing to me at the moment!

          But we’ll see. It’s the summertime, and I’m perpetually drowsy from the heat!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Gotcha. 😉 And I don’t blame you for feeling as tired about it as you do. As long as you continue plugging away at it, you’ll reach the editing finish line.

          Eeeek about the drowsiness, though. :S

          Liked by 1 person

Comments, questions, disagreements, or just want to say something? Please do!

