July2016 CampNano Week 1 & Other Events

Kind of off to a bad start. I was hoping to have completed the WIP by the beginning of this month, but with the holiday weekend, that didn’t happen. Fortunately, I was able to complete one scene, and I’m almost finished with the climax scene. But then I discovered that I can’t just end the story with the climax, so now there’s the “epilogue” type of scene to write as well.

Being that editing is, well, editing, and that’s what this month’s camp is all about for me, the ball really needs to get rolling. The novella is currently at ~39k words, and it probably won’t be complete for another 2k. I have a tendency to underestimate… everything.

So much to do, so little time. I just caught up with my weekly bujo setup* last night (Monday), so I was already two days behind there. Haven’t gotten much reading done, though I did manage to begin Wuthering Heights last week. I’m currently working on a dog portrait** commission (amid the ongoing online game art commission) and am nearly done with that. And I’ve fallen behind on my blogs, missed this past Sunday’s #storycrafter tweetchat, went to work on the holiday with a miserable hangover, and basically, my personal work is just all over the place.

But slowly and surely making progress. My life consists of: my kids, homeschooling, cooking, cleaning, writing, digital art commissions, fine art commissions, blogging, trying to avoid rationing twitter, tumblr, RSS feeds social media, and reading when I can.

I apologize for the slacking of posting anything useful or informative here lately… it’s just been one of those not-feeling-motivated doldrums.

Last but not least, I’ve recently begun using Discord!

happy_discord_by_luchita27-d8tejub

No, not that Discord. Though he is a favorite of mine.

(Future Instagram post with Queen Chrysalis in the background, coming soon!)discord

I mean the group chat app. It’s essentially a gamer’s chat client for video/audio and text group chats, but my current Camp cabin uses it for a chat hub.

And I freaking love it! I have Discord on my laptop and tablet and it takes up hardly any memory, and it’s compatible with every platform out there

Sooo I was wondering, if I created a chatroom for us writers, would anyone be interested? Something like the twitter writing communities out there (I’ve been trying to get Faye in on it! But she’s got a lot her plate as of now) but without the character limit.

Let me know!

Happy writing and looking forward to your Camp updates!

 


* If you’re on Instagram, let me know! I would love to be your friend there, too!

** I post a lot of my artwork (and other informalities) on Tumblr! Don’t be a stranger!

2 responses to “July2016 CampNano Week 1 & Other Events

    • Fantastic idea! I figured it would just be awesome in general to have something informal where our online and offline writer friends could just hang out and share our writing experiences! It’s a really cool program and you can even create different channels/tabs for different topics. I’ll keep everyone updated (:

      Liked by 2 people

Comments, questions, disagreements, or just want to say something? Please do!

