Reading Habit Tag

I saw this tag from Amanda, a wonderful and talented writer and thought I’d give a go!

  1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
    Depends on the time of day. It’s usually my lovely armchair, but if it’s early in the morning before the kids are awake, I’ll be on the sofa. Cat companionship mandatory.
  2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
    I suppose my bookmarks would be considered scraps. I’ve tried using those fancy bookmarks from the bookstores, but they just don’t feel right. For a while, I used cross stitch thread, but I’m just not that fancy. So more often than not, it’s business cards, the occasional receipt, or coupon that’s within reach.
  3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?
    I must stop at a chapter. I will only stop mid-chapter if I’m forced to, like if I’m waiting in the car or the doctor’s office. Because I’m OCD like that.2016-06-29
  4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
    I used to have this habit of eating nearly an entire of bag of Skittles in one sitting, but it’s been a while since I’ve done that. So no, I usually don’t eat while reading. I’ve drank once in a while while reading, but then I usually end up falling asleep so no, not much drinking while reading, either.
  5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
    Absolutely not. I need silence when reading. That’s all.
  6. One book at a time or several at once?
    One at a time. I used to read one fiction and one non-fiction book simultaneously, but I couldn’t keep the two subjects balanced in my mind. Then one book would be finished faster than the other… well, let’s just say I’m fond of balance.
  7. Reading at home or everywhere?
    I’ll read anywhere. Sure, I prefer reading at home because it’s a controlled environment, but I will read wherever I can.
  8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?
    I have kids so that’s the only time I’ve ever read out loud. And honestly, it’s too slow for me, so I would never do it if I didn’t have to!
  9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
    Confession: if a book stinks, I’ll skim every page. Because someone took the time and effort to write the story, so I have to give them the respect of turning every page to hopefully find that the story gets better. I used to lack self-control and sometimes allow myself to read the last sentence or two of the book… but I’ve since gained the self-control not to commit such a crime!
  10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
    You know, I have to say that this is beyond my control..! I try my best to keep my new books like new, but being that I tend to buy used paperback books, I enjoy the soft covers. I prefer paperbacks over hardcovers anyway, so I don’t mind a broken spine if that’s what happens.
  11. Do you write in your books?
    People do this kind of thing? Okay, so back in my schooling days, I’d write in and highlight in my textbooks. Better yet when they were already annotated and highlighted! But oh dear, I would never do such a thing to any of my books now, non-fiction or not. That’s what stationery’s for!

Feel free to consider yourself tagged, too!

2 responses to “Reading Habit Tag

  1. I have a chair where I prefer to read, too! It’s this one from Pier 1 (https://www.pier1.com/swivel-rocker—brown/2331390.html, with white cushions instead of brown), and it’s by one of my bedroom windows. It’s so comfy, especially with the ottoman. No other spot in the condo works so well.

    And like you, I stop reading at the end of a chapter or scene unless I’m forced to. They’re just good, natural “pause” points.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is such a lovely chair!! I’d be constantly falling asleep in it — or at least never be able to get out of it. Good excuse to keep reading!

      Mine is one of those winged armchairs (pink velvet!) and it’s cubby cornered so I can sit in any angle that is cozy.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments, questions, disagreements, or just want to say something? Please do!

