NaNoWriMo 2015 + Calendar

So as I think I mentioned in a previous post, I am participating in this year’s Nano event. After lots of plotting other works-in-progress and procrastinating during the first 4 months of this year, then working on fanfictions for the subsequent 5 months of this year, I felt the need to go back to my original fiction. I’d originally intended to write that sequel to The Red Forest for nano, but during the plotting session in October, it morphed into something else.

Now it’s still “technically” a sequel, but there was a lot of rearranging that went on. And I’m having a lot of fun with it. And that’s when creativity flows best when it’s not a chore.

So I’m stealing this questionnaire from Raychel Rose‘s lovely blog (the original tag was created by Kristina Horner on Youtube) because the idea tickled my fancy. And I really ought to just write in my story, so I’m just letting you know I won’t be working on the fanfics this month. I hope to write at least one or two posts this month, but nothing’s guaranteed. It’s a crazy month, and this week is beginning off on a bad foot already.

Nanowrimo Tag

  1. How many times have you done NaNoWriMo? This year will make it 5. I’ve won the first two times and lost the following two times (and I really can’t quite remember why I failed?), so this year I plan on breaking that tie for the win.
  2. How did you first find out about NaNoWriMo? I found out about Nanowrimo in 2009, 6 years ago, from the habitual browsing of writing blogs. I thought it was an intriguing method of writing a book. This is when the majority of The Red Forest was written.
  3. What was the name of the first novel you attempted with NaNo? The Red Forest. I completed the story in that following January.
  4. Give us a 1 sentence summary of what you’re writing this year. It’s about a promising young racer pilot who is given a rude awakening into the underground world of sports and vice.
  5. What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever been given? You have to find your own method from beginning, middle, to end. There is no proven method of writing a good book. It takes passion and a lot of work. No one said it would be easy.
  6. Did you ever take a year off from NaNo? Why? Of course I’ve taken a year (and more) off. Life in general. While there’s usually a story idea or two floating around in my head, it hasn’t manifested enough to come out on paper.
  7. What’s your biggest inspiration when figuring out what to write? Inspiration comes from various sources. A concept is what sparks my interest, and if it’s meant to be a story, the characters come naturally to me. If one or the other doesn’t work out, then the story fades back into the abyss.
  8. Read us the first sentence from one of your novels. I’ll take it from my current nano: “It never gets old.” Vague enough?
  9. Why do you love writing? Because I would wind up in the insane asylum if I weren’t able to communicate the stories my mind creates. I love books. I’m a storyteller.

Feel free to do the questionnaire! To all you who are doing nano, I wish you all the best!

Comments, questions, disagreements, or just want to say something? Please do!

